Bravery runs in the family a century and 4 generations later

Ana Sofia Gonzalez
3 min readFeb 3, 2021

--

Here you will see a picture of my grandma and I, taken during this past holiday season. This picture is much more than just a family photo though, it’s a photo that reminds me that strong women run in my family and that no matter the distance that may exist between people, we are never alone.

I spent this past holiday season with my 93 year old grandmother, Victoria Agustina, or Abue Vicky, in Mexico, but it turned out to be much more than a normal holiday visit. As my grandma has gotten older she has begun to share more of her background with us. In 1927, she immigrated to Mexico from Spain right as she was about to be born. She was actually almost born on the ship.

Her parents, Romana and Jose, unfortunately lost my grandmother’s older sister in Irun, Spain due to the Spanish flu a centruy ago. With hunger in their bellies, but bravery in their hearts, my great grandparents, pregnant with my grandma, decided to journey to the United States to join an uncle who had a farm in Nevada.

But, as you can expect, sometimes our journeys take unexpected turns. With the Grand Depression taking over the US, my great grandparents were not allowed to enter the country, thereby staying in Mexico.

Bera, Navarra, Spain where my great grandmother was born and raised

My recent visit with my grandmother was so special because my grandmother was brave enough to open up and share pieces of herself with us that she never had before. We had never before spoken about my grandmother’s sister whom she lost. I was reminded how strong my family was to leave their homes in Irun and Bera, where they had lived for over 300 years, and give up everything they knew to give my grandmother the chance at a better life. This is the family I come from. This is my grandmother, a strong and caring woman. This is also me as an immigrant here in the U.S.

This picture represents not only my family story, but the story of so many other strong immigrants at Microsoft and everywhere. While we carry the knowledge that strong families are supporting us every day, it’s not always easy when families are spread out across the globe. My story and my experience has made me a stronger woman and has given me a bigger heart for others who may be going through the same. To you all I say, you are not alone. Bravery runs in our families and bravery runs in us.

Left to right: My aunt, cousin, me, grandmother, and mom. 3 generations of Aguirre Zozaya

--

--

Ana Sofia Gonzalez

Microsoft Senior Designer: ID | Accessory | IXD | UX . Mexican/Spaniard.Creating better designs through simplicity, inclusivity, and user focus experiences.